Tuesday Morning’s Apron


My name is Alicia. Alicia Darling to my Great Aunt Alice.

A couple of months ago I walked into a Tuesday Morning with my mother and Nana. It was the first time I walked into the store, and there hidden next to a vibrant orange Le Creuset pot was this mix matched apron. I fell in love with it, and I knew it was the cheer that I needed to finally get through the winter. I dreamed of the things I would bake while wearing it and all the meals I would cook. They bought it for me. From that moment I knew I wanted to express myself through food.

Before this piece of cloth inspired me to test the waters of baking (an area that always ended with everything tasting like corn bread.. even if there was no corn), I was at a loss for a hobby that I could find passion in. Yes, I had finished a marathon the year prior. Yes, I got my CDL to drive a school bus. At 23, I am still lost as to what I wish to do with my life. So here I am. Writing about what I know I love and can continue to find a curiosity for: Food.

Everyone wants my cookies!

You will find a lot of the food I post will range from healthy options to allergy sensitive recipes. I’m allergic to tree nuts, and I have a brother who is allergic to both nuts and peanuts. At the moment I live with my parents so I will avoid cooking/baking with peanuts at home. This seems to be a very common allergy, and I’ll be glad to post up other options for gluten free or lactose free. I plan to make all of my peanut foods at my friend’s kitchens.

I hope to have guest bakers and cooks to show the talent and ideas that my friends are willing to share. Books can have some great options too, but I have found that a lot my base inspiration can come from other Food Blog lovers like me.

The point is; food should taste good. Healthy is important, but I won’t want to eat it if it tastes funky. Sometimes you even make some mistakes and instead of a vegan bean brownie you get something that tastes like cocoa bean dip.

Big Red 🙂

For Christmas my parents bought me a red Kitchenaid mixer. If you don’t have one, I highly suggest investing the money in it. Not only are they lifetime guarantee, but they are so efficient. I plan to buy the extra parts to expand my comfort zone in the art of cooking. My Nana sent me my great grandmother’s apron. Apparently she was a genius in the kitchen that worked on pure talent and made everything from scratch. I hope some of that rubbed off on me or will.

I’m in love with Farmer’s Markets and learning where my food is from. A lot of my posts might include some trips to local farms and markets near me. I want to interview people and not only make food, but understand it. I love artisans and the work they can produce with the ingredients we love. Be prepared for crafts and DIY projects.

The sheep are not for sale. But the veggies around the corner are!

So please enjoy my journey. It’s going to be a wild and rocky ride… and just a little cracked.

2 responses

Leave a Reply

