Pumpkin Waffles with Cinnamon, Banana, and Real Maple Syrup


This morning I was too lazy to cook an egg… but I was not lazy to make waffles. Go figure. My stomach knows what it wants.

I found this recipe in a magazine while I was working out at Anytime Fitness. I went home and looked online to get it for myself. I must share this healthy, filling breakfast.

Health Magazine’s Pumpkin Pancakes

You Need:

  • 1/2 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1/2 cup low-fat vanilla yogurt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 1/4 cupcake flour
  • 4 large egg whites
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

“Whisk together pumpkin, yogurt, baking soda, egg yolk, and flour. Whisk egg whites with salt; fold into pumpkin mixture. Heat a large nonstick skillet coated with cooking spray over medium heat. Spoon in 1/3 cup batter for each pancake. Flip when tops are covered with bubbles and edges are slightly brown (about 3 minutes per side). Drizzle with syrup or honey.” – Health.com

 

This is seriously the easiest recipe I’ve ever found. I decided I wanted to make waffles instead of pancakes (which I think is more delicious anyway). It took 2/3 to fill my waffle iron which means each waffle is 180 calories. One is filling enough. I cut up a banana and sprinkled some cinnamon on top too. If I have waffles or pancakes, I like to do it right. Eat it with REAL maple syrup, and not that unhealthy fake crap they call syrup.

 

Leave a Reply

