Trinity Pie


This is a favorite of my family. We have made this since I was a little girl, and my dad was served it as a kid. It’s one of those meals where I feel I need to share considering there is so much history to it. It’s a part of me, and I love how food can tell stories. My dad told me “Don’t give away the family secret meal! You’re like the Bush’s beans dog!”, but I feel like I’m not really giving it away. I’m sharing something that was filled with love and looked forward to.

Trinity Pie is what my dad’s mom calls it. She taught my mom how to make it when she married my dad. It’s one of those meals that you can play with to fit your needs and so easy to make This feeds about 8 people or so. Plenty of left overs. Cut the ingredients in half if you want to make a smaller portion.

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound of 80% ground beef (you are going to be draining the fat after browning so it’s ok to have 80%. It’s actually much easier to cook with. Can replace with turkey though or even Morning Star’s delicious ground “meat” for those vegetarians out there.)
  • 5 cans of low sodium Campbell’s tomato soup
  • 8 servings of dry potatoes flakes (I hate this stuff since I started eating REAL potatoes. Boil and mash about 6-7 potatoes if you want the real thing. If you want more for your top layer just cook more. It’s less butter and more delicious in my opinion.)
  • 2 cans of green beans (I use about 2 cups of fresh green beans. Tastes so much better)

1. Brown your meat in a pan and you drain the fat into a cup before placing the meat in the bottom of your 9X13 pan. You can use smaller if needed.

2. Pour your tomato soup into the pan. Mix it in with the meat and spread it out so it’s even.

3. Add your green beans on top of the tomato meat mixture. Do not mix it in. Just have it lay on top.

4. Once you have made your mashed potatoes, spread it on top as your final layer. Make sure it covers everything so that it’s even like this:

Bake at 350° for about 40 minutes or until heated through. Plan on leftovers ^.^I like sprinkling black pepper and cut up some fresh chives on top too.

My goal in the future: To make a version of my own with this that will have more fresh ingredients and nothing from a can or flakes.

This was perfect for tonight, because I ran a 5K in 27 minutes tonight. So proud! Yes, I’m as addicted to running as I am with food. I will be signing up for the Bay State Marathon this October. It’ll be my second marathon. Anyway, I’ll keep you updated on that as well.

Do you have any good family meals that have been passed down? Have you tried making it your own or do you feel you like it the way it is?

Leave a Reply

