Blueberry Bundt Cake with Cinnamon Brown Sugar Glaze


My inspiration for this recipe came from me trying to escape to my “happy place” in my head as the bus full of kids kept talking all at once. I dreamed of yogurt, cake, and fresh blueberries. Bundt cakes are my favorite type of cake. I think it mostly has to do with the fact that you know what your slice is going to look like, and you never really need that much frosting. A glaze is so much easier to make and so much nicer on my stomach.

This recipe has only 6 Tbs of butter in the entire thing including the glaze. I wanted to really bring out the blueberry taste so I added Trader Joe’s blueberry non fat yogurt. As I was mixing the batter, the smell of blueberries made my mouth water. You should have seen me when it was baking. I kept looking through the oven window as the aroma of it intoxicated my nostrils.

Blueberry Bunt Cake

(set oven to 375°)

You will need:

  • 2 3/4 cups flour
  • 1/4 cup soft/ melted (not hot) butter
  • 4.5 oz (just over half a cup) non fat yogurt blueberry
  • 1 cup milk (I use fat free Lactaid)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups blueberries
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 3/4 cups sugar

1. In a large mixing bowl, mix together your butter, sugar, eggs, vanilla, and half of your yogurt. In a small bowl add your flour and baking powder together.

2. Alternate between the flour mix and the milk as you blend it into your batter. You want to add the rest of the yogurt you have when you run out of milk to add with the flour.

3. Now add your blueberries but mix in with a spoon so you don’t mash up the blueberries. Make sure they are really mixed around in the batter so they aren’t clumped together.

4. In a greased bundt pan, place your batter evenly into it and smooth out the top of the batter. Place in the oven for 50 minutes or until you can stick a knife in and it comes out clean.

5. LET COOL COMPLETELY BEFORE FLIPPING OVER! (This was my first mistake when I make a chocolate bundt for the first time.)

Cinnamon Brown Sugar Glaze:

You will need:

  • 2 Tbs of melted butter
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup warmed milk
  • 1/8 tsp of vanilla extract
  • 1/2 a Tbs of cinnamon

1. Blend together. Add in order of the list of ingredients. Hand whisk any clumps if they are until it’s a thick syrup almost.

2. Place in a pouring glass and drizzling over the top of the cake once the cake is flipped and cooled.

3. Serve and love.

Great with coffee too!

Also if you want to change the cake all you need to do is change the yogurt flavor and what you place in it. I plan on making another one with vanilla non fat yogurt, chocolate chips instead and a vanilla glaze. My friend Kim also thought of the idea of not putting on a glaze, but instead having a strawberry cream cheese spread to put on the slice of cake. If you try this, please let me know how it is with the strawberry cream cheese!

Leave a Reply

