“Pretty Little Liars” Veggie Lasagna


We all have a guilty pleasure show. In high school, it was Buffy the Vampire slayer while hanging on the phone with my best friend Kelly as we watched it together after school. Now? It’s Pretty Little Liars. Yes, I understand they are in high school and I am totally not… but it’s a great murder mystery.

I found out my friend Hollee also loves the show as well… and loves to bake. We plan to have this arrangement where she will help me learn how to bake better and I will teach her what I know about cooking. Seems like an awesome win/win situation to me. So I invited her over tonight, and I made her dinner and a simple dessert I think you will all love (in part two tonight). I tried to kinda keep it themed to the show… and I figured the layers of lasagna are much like the lies that the girls keep digging themselves into. Pushing it, but to me it made sense.

Lasanga is not my favorite dish. I’m not a picky eater, but I don’t enjoy eating this meal. So I wanted to make a version I would enjoy and use up some of the ingredients in my fridge. This is what I got:

Veggie Lasagna

You will need:

  • Bag of spinach
  • Lasagna oven ready noodles
  • Jar of marinara sauce
  • Package of baby cut portabella mushrooms
  • Olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon Garlic minced
  • 1/2 tablespoon of Basil (fresh or dried)
  • Morning Star crumbled meat
  • 2 med. Tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup of Gouda cheese
  • 1/4 cup of Havarti cheese
  • 2 cups heated milk ( I used lactaid)
  • 1/3 cup plain flour
  • 3 tablespoons of butter
  • 1 tablespoon of ground nutmeg
  • pinch of black pepper

1.Set your oven to 350

2. Take an 8 X 11 rectangular pan and place about 1/4 of your marinara spread out on the bottom of the pan. Put a layer of the lasagna pasta down on top of it. Now put a layer of both the morning star crumble and the rest of your marinara mixed together. Another layer of pasta. Put a layer of spinach on top of the pasta.

3. Take your portabella mushrooms and place them in a large bowl. Place in your garlic and your basil and lightly mix in a small amount of olive oil to coat the mushrooms. Once you mix it, make this your layer to put on top of the spinach. Put another layer of the pasta on top.

4. Cut your tomatoes into thin slices and place them on top of the pasta. I only used a couple pieces of the tomatoes but you can put more. Now to make the roux!

Gouda/ Havarti Cheese Roux

1. Take a cooking pan and place on low heat to melt your butter. Once it is melted down. Switch back and forth adding the heated milk and the flour to the mixture. You are looking to make sure it does not clump.

2. Add in your cheeses slowly and continue to mix on low heat until you get a thick creamy sauce.

3. Add in your ground nutmeg to the sauce and a pinch of black pepper.

4. Place the finished sauce on top of your lasagna and spread it out. Put into the oven and bake for about an hour or until heated completely through.

Enjoy!

Signed,

A

One response

Leave a Reply

