Gluten Free Black Bean Brownies! (shhh don’t tell your kids)


This recipe is for my cousin Meghan. My Aunt Carole mentioned that she was interested in some dessert ideas that were gluten free for her. So here it is 🙂 Bonus that there is fiber and protein.

I tried making these about a month ago, but it was a vegan recipe: Vegan Black Bean Brownie. My cousin Allison and I were going to bake it together over the phone; her in Florida and me in MA. We were going to give our opinions on the recipe, and see if it was a new thing we’d like to share with our friends. I thought it sucked. It tasted like black bean dip that had been soaked in cocoa powder. It looked nothing like the picture when I was done, and I felt kinda upset over wasting my black beans.

We had a snow day on the 1st this month, and I thought to give it another go… but my way. I placed in the ingredients I felt it needed, and adjusted as I went. I was very happy with the outcome. I might try adding 2 tablespoons of my french vanilla fat free yogurt just for a little better texture, but I was very happy with the outcome (I did down like 6 out of the 9 brownies it made in less than 2 days… -_-)  I might even try adding some soy nut butter to make it more of a “peanut free” butter swirl thing. Anyway, this is a very simple recipe. All the tools you will need to make it will be a blender, an 8X8 pan, and an oven.

Set your oven to 350

You will need:

1 can black beans
3 eggs
1/2 cup cocoa powder
2 tsp of vanilla extract
3/4 cup sugar
3 tablespoons of canola oil
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tablespoon of honey

1. Put all the ingredients into a blender and blend until very smooth. You want no chunks in the mix.

2. Spray an 8X8 pan and pour brownie batter into it. Level it and sprinkle some chocolate chips if you want on top.

3. Place in the oven for 30 minutes or until knife comes out clean when you stick into brownies.

Like I said, very simple. Great quick dessert, and it tasted delicious with a little syrup and whip cream on top.Serves 9.

Leave a Reply

