Spiced White Wine Scallops over Kale,Carrots, Mushrooms, Raisins and Couscous


I made this a couple nights ago for my family after I got out of the gym. My brain flows with ideas when I’m in the middle of a great workout, and I thought about avocado chocolate mousse (adventure for later this week). Instead of coming out of Trader Joes with avocados… I came out with cottage cheese, jumbo frozen scallops, Multigrain-o’s, and kale. Not what I was expecting at all, but *shrug* worked with it. Apparently my mind had already set into the “cooking show” mode in my head. I was also supposed to get seafood earlier that day and didn’t; so that may of had some influence.

What you need for Scallops:

  • 1/2 cup White Wine of your choice. Preferably one that have hints of apples.
  • Jumbo Scallops
  • 1/2 tsp of nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp of paprika
  • 1/2 a Tablespoon of butter
  • 1 teaspoon of olive oil
  • Lemon wedge
  • salt/black pepper
  • 1/2 cup of raisins (I used a multi variety bag of raisins.)

For the Couscous:

  • Mini carrots chopped
  • Kale
  • Portobello Mushrooms
  • Black Pepper as needed
  • 2 tablespoons Olive oil
  • 1 1/2 cups boiling water
  • Couscous (follow directions below)
  • Gruyere cheese shredded for topping of everything when done.

heh, the stems of mushrooms look like wine corks... lawls (Alicia is amused)

1. Chop up all your veggies. It will make it easier if you prep. Also defrost your scallops if you have to. I put mine in a luke warm bowl bath to make it go by faster. As they get defrosted you can switch them over to the wine mixture you will make in a bowl to have it soak up the flavors.

2. Take care of the Couscous. On low/med heat, before adding water, in a pot place your 1 1/3 cups of couscous dry with about 2 tablespoons of olive oil. You want it to brown and not burn. Once browned you can add 1 1/2 cups of boiling water and make it boil. Once it boils, put on simmer and cover for 12 minutes. At around 6 minutes add your kale and carrots to the mixture as well as half of how much you cut up for the mushrooms.

I used my tea kettle for the boiling water.

3. Your wine mixture will be made by adding all your spices and the olive oil and wine into a bowl and mixing with a spoon. Save the butter to coat the pan. Soak your scallops for at least a 1/2 hour in the wine mix. The longer, the better. On a low heat, add your butter to the pan and move it around to melt it. You don’t want it to be fully gone before adding your wine mix and scallops.

Put on med/ high after adding your scallop wine mix. After a couple minutes you can add your other part of the mushrooms and the raisins into the pan.

When most of the wine has gone away squeeze your lemon on top of the scallops for flavor. The scallops are done when they are opaque looking.

4. Serve your couscous and I put two jumbo scallops on each plate. Serve with some stuffed grape leaves if you have any. I’m addicted to these things. I need to figure out how to make them and post on here. For now, we buy these delicious veggie stuffed grape leaves.

Add some shredded Gruyere cheese on top to really bring all the flavors together.

I’m heading off to Meriden, CT today to visit my friend Megan. She works at Starbucks and said she is giving me a bag of Blonde Roast. Yum! I love coffee! I haven’t seen her in forever so it’ll be refreshing.I’ll take some pictures of my adventure to share.

Hope you have as lovely weather as we do here right now. Feels like summer in April. Also, my turnips are popping up and same with my chives 🙂

3 responses

  1. I want to know how you can walk into Trader Joe’s and not buy avocados, haha. I end up with enough for four people for a week, and am then left pondering why I bought so many and what the heck I’m going to do with them ;D Sounds like a great dinner recipe, love all those ingredients! Couscous, kale and raisins are a great combo.

  2. Pingback: Nashoba Winery and Tour | justalittlecracked

Leave a Reply

