Mashed Red Pepper Turnips and Tutti Frutti Frozen Yogurt Visit


Happy Mother’s Day to all moms out there or even people who have to act like moms to others! Today is a gorgeous day and I just got back from a family reunion of my dad’s cousins, aunts, and uncles; most I have never met before.

My lovely mother with me at the reunion.

My Uncle Dave and Uncle Bill went with us and spent the night last night. My Uncle Bill happened to notice the turnips that were starting to sprout in my fridge and he asked what I was planning on doing with them. The only thing that could come to mind was a soup of some sort, but I wasn’t completely sold on the idea.

“We used to mash them like potatoes. Boil them up, slab some butter with pepper and salt and mash them up. It’s very delicious,” he said.

I haven’t ever had turnips alone. I always just loved the colors and shape of them and they are usually in a soup. Like I said, kind of not sold on something I’ve already tried. So I cut off the tops and bottoms and threw them in a pot. Figured instead of french fries or potatoes with my burger, I could have mashed turnips.

I put olive oil and a 1/2 Tbs of Honey for a little sweetness while it boiled.

I drained them out of the pot when they were very soft after boiling and added about a tablespoon of butter. Then added my red pepper to how I like it, kosher salt, and black pepper.

Now turnips are not the same texture of potatoes. Similar but not the completely the same. I found them a little more watery, but they were delicious.

My burger consisted of:

  • beef
  • Swiss cheese
  • mixed romaine lettuce
  • mixed colored Quinoa and baby portabella mushrooms that were cooked
  • fresh pineapple slices
  • fresh slice of tomato

And I added baked beans on the side. It was all very filling and a great way to spend a warm lunch hour. For dessert, I picked up my friend Kelly and we both went to this new place that opened up at the mall called “Tutti Frutti Frozen Yogurt“.

It is an all self serve frozen yogurt place with amazing variety when it comes to flavors and toppings. The price is pretty high, but they go by weight of the yogurt. It sort of pushes you to watch your portions in a way. Clever, no?

Kelly’s Coconut and Chocolate Frozen Yogurt with fresh coconut topping, cherries, kiwi, caramel syrup and chocolate jimmies (sprinkles if you aren’t from New England)

Just to note that these cups are a small. Isn’t that crazy? They are huge and you tend to forget while you are pouring in your yogurt and making this crazy concoction that it is a huge cup. Both of ours together cost 15 dollars.

My red velvet/coffee/chocolate/cookies and cream frozen yogurt with fresh strawberries, bananas, mini chocolate chips, and a little bit of crushed Oreos

The quality is great and it doesn’t leave your stomach hating life. It is gluten-free too and pretty healthy for you nix the type of toppings you put on it. Have you heard of this place before or visited it? This one is located in Nashua, NH at the Pheasant Lane Mall if you wish to give it a try, or if you are local. My only issue with the place is that it’s not really allergen friendly. It’s all processed in a place with a lot of common allergies. Luckily they are very good about separating all the toppings and I just avoid the machine that has the two nut yogurts together. It’s a gamble for me, but I hate feeling like I need to miss out. The website will give you more locations and nutritional info. I don’t think I’ll go here all the time, but it was worth it as a healthier option treat.

One response

  1. Hey Alicia – Great to meet you at the family reunion on Sat. LOVE your blog! Great recpies I can’t wait to try.

    Janet (the other Tom Melvin’s daughter!)

Leave a Reply

