Homemade White Corn Tortillas


I had picked up the June copy of “bon appetit” and found this very easy recipe for making homemade tortillas. I loved the idea of fresh, hot tortillas made from scratch. I searched everywhere for a tortilla press that they mentioned in the magazine, but none of my local stores had one. I will have to order one online or look in a kitchen specialty store. For today, I just used wax paper and my hands. My Nana mentioned using a rolling pin might of helped, but I kind of like the uneven look to these mini tortillas.

I had picked up some Morningstar Farm’s “meat” starters, and I love using the crumbles as a substitute for taco meat. I don’t like to buy the taco spice packages because they always have so much sodium. Today I used cumin, chili powder, cilantro, black pepper, salt, a little garlic powder and fresh slices of pineapple.

The grilled rhubarb I put on top of my taco went so well with the pineapple. It’s a great way to bring in extra flavor without any of the fake flavoring. I cooked this first, and then I put it in a bowl to be on warm in the oven.

I try to cut up all my veggies first too. I wanted to have the tortillas when they were hot out of the pan.

We had leftover salad from Wednesday spaghetti night. I used that as extra toppings for the tacos.

Now to make the tortillas. I picked up basic white corn ground meal by Goya for my tortillas. You can use yellow if you prefer. I also plan to try and grind up veggies and putting them in my mixture before cooking next time. For now, basics:

 

You need:

  • 2 cups (or more if needed) of masa corn tortilla mix (Maseca brand is recommended)
  • 1 1/2 cups of water (or more if needed)
  • 1/2 tsp of kosher salt
  • Oil for brushing (I used olive oil, but the magazine said vegetable oil.)

You want the dough to be firm and look dry like Play-Doh can. Add more water if it’s too crumbly and add more masa if it’s too wet. Like I said earlier, using a tortilla press is highly recommended, but if you  don’t have one you can do what I did. Take a  piece of wax paper and put a ball the size of a walnut on the paper.

 

Fold the wax paper over the ball and press down to flatten.

Cooking 2-3 tortillas at a time, brush both sides of the dough with the oil and put in a pan on high for 1-2 minutes. Both sides should have slightly charred spots and curl on the outside when done.

 

I was so sure that I wouldn’t be able to fold in like a hard taco but you totally can! They tasted amazing and really brought my tacos for the family to another level. I felt proud that I made everything from scratch. I was also thinking, doing this could save a lot on money and food in the future. Take out the masa every time I want to make tacos and make some more. I pressed a couple more and saved them between sheets of wax paper for future tacos.

My nana, papa, and I chowed on our lunches and felt like our walks we all took earlier that morning weren’t wasted. I hate when you eat crappy food and it ruins all your hard work. Not today!

 

I highly suggest picking up the June magazine of “bon appetit”. They had a ton of great summer food ideas. Don’t be surprised if another shows up here soon.

Tonight, I’m going to a cheese making class in Woburn, MA. Pictures and post to come in the following days. Get ready for fresh mozzarella!

 

Leave a Reply

