Eating Healthy Camping Tips (My weekend at Lake Lake Ossipee)


This past weekend I had the best time with a couple of my friends up at Lake Ossipee in New Hampshire. We had planned a weekend of swimming and hiking up near the White Mountains. One thing we all agreed on was that we wanted to eat decently healthy. It almost seems like a waste to enjoy the outdoors and pig out only on chips, preservatives, and food mostly made of fat. So I wanted to go over some tips that I have learned and still learning during my great outdoor adventures.

First off. Look at this.

Imagine being out on this lake and everywhere you turn there is just mountains surrounding you. The sand in the water has glittering bits of mica that make the waters seem like a diamond in sunlight. The air was fresh, and the weather was gorgeous. My friends, Chrissy and Kristin, were so hyped about going out on the boat called Hydro Therapy. It was pure therapy. The loons lifted their heads high as we blasted their call on the boat stereo. Kristin’s boyfriend’s stepfather owned the boat and had a CD that heard a variety of Loon calls.

When we planned this trip, we thought of things that would be healthy and easy to snack on. I don’t know about you, but I don’t eat huge big meals unless it’s breakfast when camping or hiking. So here are a couple of ideas to eat healthy.

Fruit salad is easy to make and great to snack on. Even better, depending on how many fruits you put into it, it can be a cheap food choice that can last for days. You can really make a large amount with just a couple of melons, strawberries, blueberries, and other fruit.

Salad and Marinated Meat are great options to prep beforehand and use as a couple of dinner or lunch options. The salad you don’t need to cook and you can wait to cut up the tomatoes so that you don’t make your salad soggy. The marinated meat is great for the fire pit grills that most camp sites offer. They will be delicious, because they will have been sitting in a ziplock bag with the dressing or marinade that you put inside with the meat.

GORP (aka trail mix) is a new word I learned that weekend. It means “Good Ol’ Raisins and Peanuts”. We snacked a lot on the mixture that Kristin made up. It was yogurt covered raisins, peanuts, m&ms, dried cranberries and bananas. Just throw into a bag and it packs easily for a hike. I wish I took a photo, but you really can make it with anything.

Now I’m not saying avoid eating smores. In fact, I insist you eat a smore while around the camp fire. Just know there are ways that you can eat healthy while away from the supermarket or your home. It’s all about choices.

Eating Out can be healthy too especially if it’s family owned like Rosie’s.

Open the door and hear the jingling chimes of your silverware.

When I am about to go for a hike I look to eat two things, healthy carbs and lean protein. A lot of diners offer egg whites and sometimes even bake their own bread. I lucked out with going to Rosie’s because they had a healthy section.

I picked the one in red. It was more than I could have asked for. The homefries were cooked in garlic and onions. The aroma of the freshly baked wheat bread made my mouth water.

 

With these simple and healthy options, this girl hiked 4 miles with a lot of uphill. It made some of the hard MA mountain climbs look like baby steps. I want to go back to the White Mountains and conquer more.

Fun Find: Veggie Art Girl in Holderness, NH

Owner: Stacey Lucas

On my way back home from Lake Ossipee, Chrissy and I passed this shop with large hula hoops in the parking lot. Bright colors are my weakness. I turned to Chrissy and asked if we could turn around. We made a U-turn and I hopped out of the car. Technically it should have been closed, but Stacey was kind enough to let me roam around and shop a bit.  She makes her own hula hoops and hand-painted signs.

I found a scrabble piece with a sunflower charm for a necklace. I picked up a charm for Chrissy with the tree of life on it. There were homemade soaps that caught my attention. I snagged a lemongrass bar that had ingredients that I actually could pronounce. An owl plate caught my eye, but I didn’t get it. Everything in the store is locally made, and Stacey said she loved that the most about her shop. She was kind enough to give me a free sample of the store’s Vegan Fig Balm.
If you get a chance, please check this place out if you are out that way or heading back south from the White Mountains.

5 responses

  1. I forgot to ask when you were here the other day, when you went to Ossipee, did you take route 16? And is Rosie’s in Ossipee? And is the veggie art shop on route 16?

  2. Veggie Art Girl is off the Corner of Rtes. 3 & 175 (Across from Squam Lake). Rosie’s is in Tamworth, White Mountains. 6 miles northwest of Center Ossipee
    Ranked #1 in Tamworth, NH. I don’t remember if we took Route 16, because I was not the one driving >_<. Hope that helped 🙂

  3. Thank you for writing this tremendous top quality article. The information in this material confirms my point of view and you really laid it out well. I could never have written an article this good. 740142

  4. hey there and thank you on your information ? I’ve definitely picked up something new from proper here. I did on the other hand experience a few technical issues the use of this site, since I skilled to reload the site lots of occasions previous to I may just get it to load correctly. I were pondering in case your web host is OK? Now not that I am complaining, but sluggish loading circumstances instances will sometimes have an effect on your placement in google and can harm your high quality score if advertising and marketing with Adwords. Well I’m including this RSS to my e-mail and can glance out for a lot extra of your respective interesting content. Ensure that you update this again very soon..

  5. I actually saw rosies when I drove to Maine, its right off route 16. Veggie art girl I did not see but I didnt drive off route 16 when i was in nh. But I got all excited when I saw the same sign from your blog of rosies. I would have stopped but they were closed.

Leave a Reply

