Acadia Popovers and Giveaway


*Details in post

I just got back from my vacation in Acadia, Maine. What a gorgeous place! After 3 years of wanting to go, I finally went camping there. Acadia is one of those places that there is simply too much to do in such a short period of time. I’m going to have to go back and plan out more. For the most part, my meals consisted of lobster rolls and clam chowder. I really wanted to go visit Jordan’s Pond for some tea and their legendary popovers, but I couldn’t justify close to 15 dollars and up on simple desserts and tea. Instead, I bought the Popover mix and some fresh wild blueberry jam from Maine. I was trying to find something to bring back to hold a little reader’s contest, and I felt that the jam and popovers really reflect well on Acadia.

Even the Abbe Native American Museum mentioned them.

Today I had a mini tea party with my friend Kelly, my Nana, and my mom. It was very last minute, and it was more so that I could try and make my popovers to sample. English Black Tea was served with the sweets. I whipped up some honey oat bars with mixed raisins to go with my raspberry jam.

Popovers, I feel, are a little overrated for the way they sound. Plain ones are fine with jam, but I think next time I might try making a chive and gouda popover. Maybe even ones with meat inside. They are delicious with tea, I will give popovers that. I feel like I don’t use my tea cups enough, or even make fun luncheon snacks instead of one huge meal.

Jordan’s Pond is a place where this farmer’s wife used to serve popovers and tea to the hotty- totty of Mt. Desert Island. It was a “thing to do” and all day affair getting to Jordan’s Pond in the early 1900s.

How to make your own Popovers:

(For 8-12 popovers)

You Need:

Four eggs
Two cups milk (I used 2 percent)
Two cups flour
One-half teaspoon salt
One-sixth teaspoon baking soda

(I make the batter a day ahead of time, refrigerating it, and then letting it return to room temperature for 1 hour.)

2. Set oven to 450

3. Mix your eggs and milk together until smooth. Once well mixed, add your dry ingredients.

4. Fill your greased popover pan 3/4 with your batter and bake for 14 minutes at 450.

5. Without opening the oven, turn the oven down to 350 and add an extra 15 minutes to the clock.

6. Stuff with ice cream, meat, or just use jam when you serve. It tastes amazing right out of the oven like most things.

I’m sure the view from the farm house made the trip to Jordan’s Pond worth it. I mean, look at some of my pictures of Acadia. This place will take your breath away. I highly suggest taking a ride on the Margaret Todd Ship in Bar Harbor. It is a great way to see the islands, ocean, and animals around Mt. Desert Island.

My giveaway gift is a small jar of wild blueberry jam, Jordan’s Pond original Popover Mix, and a couple of English Tea Bags to go with it. If you would like to win my little gift, all you need to do is:

1. Leave a comment below with your email address and a little comment about what you would like to see more of on my blog or something you like.

2.. Subscribe to my blog OR if you are already a reader, forward my blog to a friend and have them subscribe. Just leave their name in your message below.

Contest will run from Monday, Aug 6th– Sunday, Aug 12th. I will email the winner.

2 responses

  1. Damn your contest is already over. I want Maine blueberry jam! That sounds delicious! Well Im glad you had fun in Maine, id love to see more pictures if you have time to email me some. <33Alison

Leave a Reply

