Pumpkin Muffins with Cream Cheese Glaze


 

I know that it’s still August, but even Trader Joes has tempted me with Fall by bringing out their Pumpkin Ales. Soon Starbucks will have their Pumpkin Lattes, and Dunkin Donuts will bring out their famous Pumpkin Muffins. Well, why not make something much more delicious at home and the correct portion size?

Trader Joes Pumpkin Ale is Available!

Fall is probably one of my favorite seasons. Back to school clothes, new supplies, layered clothing, cute boots, and some of my favorite veggies are in season. I have some great soup ideas and hearty foods for the coming weather. I don’t know how things will go for me in the future balancing school and college, but I do know that I want to stay fit and healthy during it all. Fall is the mental and physical setup time before I am forced to keep a routine to make it through the winter. I can’t wait to hear the crunch of leaves under my boots again.

As much as I love summertime, I notice I get lazy in the heat. Cooking and baking is harder, and it is very easy to become lazy in the heat.

So let’s look forward to a wonderful autumn (Especially considering I’m in New England), and make something delicious. Here is the recipe for my pumpkin muffins with cream cheese frosting.

You Need for the Muffins:

  • 1 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp of pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 3/4 cup veggie oil
  • 2 eggs beaten
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • brown sugar to sprinkle

You Need for the Cream Cheese Glaze:

  • 4 oz of Cream Cheese at room temp
  • 1 cup confectionary sugar
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

 

1. Set oven to 350.

2.In a large bowl, add your sugar, pumpkin, oil, eggs, and vanilla. Beat well.

3. In a smaller bowl, stir your flour, baking soda, salt and pumpkin spice. Mix well.

4. Add the smaller bowl into the large bowl. Stir until moistened.

5. Spoon into a greased cupcake pan or use cupcake paper cups. Fill 2/3 full.

6. Sprinkle brown sugar on top of each muffin.

7. Bake for 18-20 minutes until a testing stick comes out clean.

 

While that is baking, you can start on your cream cheese glaze.

 

1. Whip your room temp. cream cheese with your butter and vanilla extract together.

2. Slowly add your confectioner sugar to the mix until you have a glaze. You want it to be a thick glaze. Not too runny, but not a frosting.

3. Once the muffins have cooled, drizzle the glaze onto the muffins.

Enjoy!

 

In other news,

Chrissy and I just siphoned our Malbec wine into the carboy. A couple more weeks and it’ll be ready to bottle. You know that there will be a giveaway then! 😉

Leave a Reply

