Life Alive Homemade Favorite Spin-off: Kale, Tofu, Carrots, Quinoa, Ginger/Soy Sauce


Hey Readers!

Lots of things have been going on in my life. I’ve been attempted to set up a new job while continuing my education. I love my classes in my Environmental Health major, and I’m looking into future paid internships at the USDA. So that’s basically where I have been. This is my quick and delicious recipe for days when I really just need to focus on homework.

Today I got to go to the Tyngsboro, MA Farmer’s Market. It’s the 2nd to last week as of today; I suggest checking it out next Sunday from 9am-12pm if you are in the area. Click on the picture below for their website.

So I’ve been trying to hop back onto the healthy mode, but it can be hard when you are going to school full time. There is a vegan/vegetarian restaurant I love in Lowell called Life Alive. This is like a knock-off easy version that I make at home when I lack the money.

The Knocker of Off Meal

You need:

  • Medium Tub Tofu (or any of your preference)
  • Kale
  • Baby carrots
  • Quinoa
  • Trader Joe’s Sesame Soy Ginger Fat Free Vinaigrette

Step 1: Cook quinoa either as instructed on bag/box or just 1/2 a cup of Quinoa in 1 cup water. Boil the water and quinoa. When it starts boiling, cover and set to simmer for about 15 minutes.

Step 2: Cut up your baby carrots into small pieces and rip apart your kale. The last 7-5 minutes of cooking your quinoa, put in the carrots and kale. Stir occasionally and cover when not stirring pot.

Step 3: Cut up your tofu into small 1 inch cubes. Keep on a plate until ingredients in pot are done. Add when serving. Drizzle the Vinaigrette over your plate or bowl of food and devour!
A cool find that I want to pick up:

These stoneware holders are great for fruits and vegetables. Now you can keep them out on your table or in your kitchen. They are easy to clean, and love the colors they come in. I think I might get one in every color. My favorite? The blue. Anthropologie sells them for $14.00 each and they are microwave/dishwasher safe.

Leave a Reply

